Showing the single result

Felipe Massa F1 Model Cars

19% off UK GP Sale

Felipe Massa's F1 History: 2005-2017

Felipe Massa is a Brazilian racing driver who competed in Formula One from 2002 to 2017. During his career, he drove for some of the top teams in the sport, including Ferrari and Williams. Massa is remembered for his skill behind the wheel, his perseverance through adversity, and his loyalty to his teams.

2005-2006: Sauber

Massa began his Formula One career with Sauber in 2002, but it was not until 2005 that he really began to make his mark on the sport. In 2005, he scored his first podium finish at the European Grand Prix and finished the season in 13th place. In 2006, he continued to race with Sauber and finished the season in 9th place.

2006-2013: Ferrari

In 2006, Massa made a move to Ferrari, where he would spend the majority of his career. He quickly found success with the team, winning his first race with Ferrari at the Turkish Grand Prix in 2006. In 2008, Massa came within a single point of winning the World Championship, but he ultimately lost to Lewis Hamilton in a dramatic season finale. Despite this disappointment, Massa continued to race with Ferrari until 2013, earning 11 Grand Prix wins and cementing his place as one of the team's most beloved drivers.

2014-2017: Williams

In 2014, Massa made a move to Williams, where he would finish out his Formula One career. He had a successful first season with the team, finishing in the top ten in several races and earning a podium finish at the Italian Grand Prix. However, his performance began to decline in the following seasons, and he announced his retirement from Formula One at the end of the 2017 season.

Why Felipe Massa is Still Remembered

Massa is remembered for his skill and determination on the track, as well as his loyalty to his teams. He was a fierce competitor and a fan favourite, and his emotional return to the podium after a near-fatal crash at the Hungarian Grand Prix in 2009 is still talked about as one of the most inspiring moments in Formula One history. Despite never winning a World Championship, Massa's impressive career and his commitment to the sport continue to be celebrated by fans and fellow drivers alike.

Records and Milestones

Massa holds a number of records and milestones in Formula One, including the following: He is the most successful Brazilian driver in Formula One history, with 11 Grand Prix wins. He holds the record for the most pole positions by a Brazilian driver, with 16. He is one of only three Brazilian drivers to have won the Brazilian Grand Prix, which he did twice (in 2006 and 2008). Massa's impressive achievements on the track have earned him a place as one of the greatest drivers in the history of Brazilian motorsport.

Massa's Performance in the Drivers' Championship (2005-2017)

The table below shows Massa's performance in the Drivers' Championship from 2005 to 2017.
Year Team Name The Car Model Points Position
2005 SauberC24 11 13th
2006 Sauber C24B 7 9th
2007 Ferrari F2007 94 4th
2008 Ferrari F2008 97 2nd
2009 Ferrari F60 22 11th
2010 Ferrari F10 144 6th
2011 Ferrari 150° Italia 118 6th
2012 Ferrari F2012 122 7th
2013 Ferrari F138 112 8th
2014 Williams FW36 134 7th
2015 Williams FW37 121 6th
2016 Williams FW38 53 11th
2017 Williams FW40 43 11th
Massa's career in Formula One was marked by his impressive skill, determination, and loyalty to his teams. His legacy in the sport continues to be celebrated by fans around the world.
Streamline checkout and add this item to cart

No thanks! Happy to slow down my checkout *By completing this, you are signing up to receive our emails. You can unsubscribe at any time.